Monday, October 22, 2007

MSBA presents awards

The Maryland Sheep Breeders Association (MSBA) held its annual meeting and banquet on October 20 at the Carroll County Ag Center in Westminster.

Dr. Rich Barczewski is MSBA's 2007 Shepherd of the YearNew Officers
Dr. Mara Mullinix is MSBA's new vice president. She is joined on the executive board by returning officers: Joe Frey, President; Connie DeLamater, Treasurer; and Jordan Thomas, Secretary. New directors include Greg Thorne, Patty Loun, Steve Archer, and Jeff Hevner.

Shepherd of the Year
During the meeting, Dr. Richard Barczewski was presented with MSBA's "Shepherd of the Year" award. Dr. Barczewski manages the Maryland Wool Pool, co-instructs the beginning and advanced sheep shearing schools, and presents beginning shepherd seminars at the Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival. He is the Chair of the Department of Agriculture at Delaware State University.

Honorary County Agent
Bev Pearsall was presented with the "Honorary County Agent" award from the Maryland Association of County Agricultural Agents (MACAA). The award was presented by David Greene, retired county agent from Carroll County and life member of MACAA. Pearsall is a sheep breeder in Frederick County. Her Texel lambs typically win the carcass contest at the Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival.

MSBA Membership
Membership in the Maryland Sheep Breeders Association is $25 per year and includes a subscription to the quarterly Maryland Sheep News. Checks made payable to MSBA should be sent to Jordan Thomas, MSBA Secretary, 447 E. Catherine Street, Chambersburg, PA 17201.